Kosovo is a disputed territory and in a moment, partially recognized state in Southeastern Europe that declared its independence from Serbia in February 2008 as the Republic of Kosovo. It has been recognized by the United States and major European Union countries, but Serbia, backed by its powerful ally Russia, refuses to do so, as do most ethnic Serbs inside Kosovo.

More about Kosovo – link to PDF

Capital: Pristina
Population: 1.8 million
Total Area: 10,908 square kilometers
Official Language: Albanian, Serbian, Turkish,
Religions: Muslims and Christian Orthodox
Borders with: Serbia, Macedonia, Albania and Montenegro

Our Balkan Tours which includes Kosovo